I'd love to be a dog groomer in my next life!

Keats

I've been a language teacher in this life but have loved grooming. Three of whom didn't need much doing except claws trimming, but two of them had long, curly hair which matted easily. Are there any dog groomers here? I'm sure they have some great tales to tell. I once trimmed my poor little miniature-poodle mixed with a what-we-could-never workout, so closely around his matted neck (that's how he came to me), that he looked like ET. We were tempted to call him that - but he already knew himself as "Dylan".

HereSadie

It's sweet of you to help pups like that. It can't feel good to have matted up fur. I'm not a dog groomer but I sure appreciate the one that takes care of Sadie. She also volunteers to groom the dogs at the Humane Society when they need help. It turns out those thick tangles of fur can lead to sores and infection. The dogs look totally different when she's finished. You can tell they feel better too by the way they show off.

MeriYa

A language teacher? I love that. I've never been a professional dog groomer, but in the past I have had dogs that were brought to me from various people who asked me to house, or take care of their dogs for them. I've seen dogs with huge sores on their bodies, large patches of missing hair, infected ear tips. I've never had one with matted fur, but I've seen it and it's not a pretty sight. It's great that you love dog grooming. A good dog groomer is worth his or her weight in gold because it's a job that not everybody can do well.

Savile